History and Traditions
Facts About Mills
Consumer Information
Student Stories
Administration
Virtual Tour
Diversity
Sustainability at Mills
News
Events
Directions
Campus Directory


Diversity and Social Justice at Mills

Mills Bridge Advocate Team (MBAT)

Mills Bridge Advocate Team for all Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Questioning, Twospirit, Pansexual, Asexual and Genderfluid (LGBTQIQ2PAG) students.

Who we are:
Mills Bridge Advocate Team is made up of faculty and staff who have agreed to help support Mills LGBTQIQ2PAG students to best navigate the systems and advocate for themselves.

What we do:
As a Mills Bridge Advocate Team member one agrees to: Work with, not for, students navigating the system by acting as a resource.

And agree to make the following commitments:

  • Review a brief set of training resources on how to be a strong advocate for LGBTQIQ2PAG students. (This will be sent out after one signs up.)
  • Attend one Advocacy Team meeting per semester where we can brainstorm ideas, discuss specific concerns, share resources and support each other.
  • Participate in discussions about the implementation of GIES report recommendations as well as other policies and practices that might support LGBTQIQ2PAG students

Bridge Advocates
Alphabetical by department

Admission

Kathryn Cabunoc, cabunoc@mills.edu
Staff
she/her
Japanese-Filipino-Mexican American, cisgender, queer POC

Advising, Career & Global Learning

Ines C. Barbosa, ibarbosa@mills.edu
Staff
she/ella
First Generation, Daughter of Immigrants, Latinx

Athletics, PE, & Recreation

Lilia Dosalmas, ldosalmas@mills.edu
Staff

Nic Van Dyke, nvandyke@mills.edu
Staff
My name, he, she, they/them
In recovery from conservative religious upbringing; I now enjoy nature-based spirituality. First-generation college graduate. Genderqueer, non-binary.

Neil Virtue, nvirtue@mills.edu
Staff
he/him/his
white, cis-gender male, gay, brother, son, coach

Biology Department

Sarah Swope, sswope@mills.edu
Professor of Biology
she/her/hers
Cis, straight ally

The Center for Student Leadership, Equity, & Excellence

Sascha Brown, sascbrown@mills.edu
Staff
They/them
Black/African American, Gender Queer, Non Binary

Alfredo Del Cid adelcid@mills.edu
Staff
He/Him
Latinx, Pansexual, Queer, Christian, First Gen, Able Bodied

Computer Science Department

Ellen Spertus, spertus@mills.edu
Professor of Computer Science
she/her
I am Jewish, have a physical disability (an essential tremor), and have experienced mental illness.

English Department

Diane Cady, dcady@mills.edu
Professor of English
She/Hers/Her
First generation college student, Latina

Kirsten Saxton, ktsaxton@mills.edu
Professor of English
She/hers

Housing Management & Dining Services

Phaedra Gauci, pgauci@mills.edu
Staff
First generation, immigrant, person of color, queer.

Jason Katayanagi, jkatayanagi@mills.edu
Staff
He, Him, His
Happa, Cis Male, Athiest

Jessica Lopez, jeslopez@mills.edu
Staff
she/her/hers
Female identified, lesbian, able bodied, chicana

Information & Technology Services

Samuel Gonzálezsagonzalez@mills.edu
Staff
he/him/they/them
Afro-Mexican, Demisexual, gender resistant

Library

Elissa Papendick, epapendick@mills.edu
Staff
she/her
queer, white, femme, disabled, cis woman

Lindsey Shively, lshively@mills.edu
Staff
she/her
Queer, white cis femme. Currently able-bodied

Lawral Wornek, lwornek@mills.edu
Staff
she/her
I'm your friendly neighborhood (cis, white, femme) queer librarian.

M Center

Alison Ross, aross@mills.edu
Staff
she, her, hers, they, their
White, British, christian, Parent

School of Business & Public Policy

Andrew R. Flores, andflores@mills.edu
Professor of Political Science
he/him/his
latinx, cisgender, gay, first generation

Keelia Murphy, kmurphy@mills.edu
Staff
she/her/hers
Queer white/Mexican femme
 
Tayler Hammond, thammond@mills.edu
Staff
she/her/hers

School of Education

Diane Ketelle, dketelle@mills.edu
Professor of Education
She, her

Alison McDonald, amcdonald@mills.edu
Professor of Education
She, Her, hers
I am an older lesbian in a long-term relationship of 35 years (married legally since 2008). We have raised two children together who are now adults.

Provost's Office

Chinyere Oparah, jcoparah@mills.edu
Provost & Dean of the Faculty
Professor of Ethnic Studies
She/her or they/them
Black/ African; lesbian

Maggie Hunter, mhunter@mills.edu
Associate Provost, Recruitment & Student Success
Professor of Sociology

she/her
I am a biracial (black and white) woman. I am straight, but a resource and advocate for any LGBTQQ2PAG students or community members.

If you want to be on the list, please contact: MBAT-Admin@mills.edu

 

 

Overview

Committee on Equity, Inclusion, and Social Justice

Latinx Task Force

Mills Bridge Advocate Team

Reports

Last Updated: 8/27/18