Academic Calendar

2021–22

Fall
Monday–Friday April 5–9 Priority registration for continuing and returning students, fall and summer 2021
Saturday-Sunday April 10-18 Priority registration for continuing and returning students, fall and summer 2021
Monday–Tuesday April 19–April 20 Registration closed for summer 2021 only
Wednesday–Friday April 21–June 14 Registration open for summer 2021 only
Saturday–
Sunday
April 10–June 27 Registration open for all continuing and returning students, fall 2021
  • New undergraduate students must contact admissions for fall 2021 registration information
  • New graduate students must contact department for fall 2021 registration information and access
Monday–
Thursday
June 28–July 1 Registration closed for fall 2021
Friday–
Tuesday
July 2–July 27 Registration reopens for fall 2021
Wednesday–Monday July 28–August 2 Registration closed for fall 2021
Monday August 2 Tuition and fees due (late fee assessed beginning August 3)
Tuesday–Wednesday August 3–September 22 Registration open for fall 2021 (all continuing students)
Monday August 16 Drop from classes for non-payment
Saturday–Tuesday August 21–24 New student orientation and registration
Monday August 21 Residence halls open at 9:00
Tuesday August 24 Graduate student orientation
Wednesday August 25 Instruction begins
Monday September 6 Labor Day Holiday
Wednesday September 8
  • Last day to add a class
  • Last day to increase credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from audit to graded or P/NP
  • Last day to reduce credits, withdraw, or take a leave of absence, or withdraw for a partial tuition credit
  • Last day to submit a readmission application for fall 2021
  • Last day to submit a graduate special status application for fall 2021 (contact graduate admissions)
Wednesday September 22 Drop deadline
  • Last day to drop a class without grade of "W"
  • Last day to decrease credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from P/NP or graded to audit grading
September 22
Temporarily extended to December 6
Last day to change grade option from graded to P/NP or P/NP to graded
Friday September 24 Convocation
Monday November 1 Last day for students graduating fall 2021 to declare a minor
Wednesday November 3
Temporarily extended to December 6
Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript
Monday–Friday November 1–5 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for January term 2022 and spring term 2022
Thursday  November 11 Staff offices closed for Veteran's Day
Saturday–
Tuesday
November 6–16 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term 2022 and spring term 2022)
Wednesday–Monday November 17–22 Registration closed for spring term 2022 (open for January term 2022)
Monday November 22 Fall course evaluations open
Tuesday–Thursday November 23–December 23 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term and spring term)
Wednesday–Friday November 24–26 Thanksgiving Holidays
Wednesday December 1 Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred May (spring 2022) or September (summer 2022)
Monday December 6
  • Last day of instruction
  • Last day to take a leave of absence or withdraw for the current semester
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
December 6
Temporarily extended to December 15
Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Monday December 6
Temporarily extended from November 6
Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript
December 6
Temporarily extended from September 22
Last day to change grade option from graded to P/NP or P/NP to graded
Tuesday–Wednesday December 7–8 Reading Days
Friday December 10 Fall course evaluations close
Thursday–Wednesday December 9–15 Final Exams 
Monday December 13 Master's theses and doctoral dissertations for degrees to be conferred January 2022 (fall 2021) due in the Library
December 15
Temporarily extended from December 6
Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Wednesday December 15 Residence halls close at noon
Friday–Sunday December 24–January 2 January term and spring 2022 registration closed
Wednesday December 22 Grades due by faculty (5:00 pm)
January  Term
Monday–Friday November 1–5 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for January term 2022 and spring term 2022
Saturday–
Tuesday
November 6–16 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for January term 2022 and spring term 2022
Thursday  November 11 Staff offices closed for Veteran's Day
Wednesday–
Monday
November 17–22 Registration closed for spring 2022 (open for January term 2022)
Tuesday–Thursday November 23–December 23 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for January term 2022 and spring term 2022
Thursday December 16 Tuition and fees for January term 2022 due
Friday December 17 January term 2022 drop for non-payment
Friday–Sunday December 24–January 2 January term 2022 and spring term 2022 registration closed
Monday January 3
  • January term residence halls open
  • Instruction begins
  • Last day to add a January term course
Tuesday January 4 Last day to drop a January term course
Wednesday January 5 Last day to withdraw from a January term course. A "W" will appear on the transcript.
Monday January 10 Course evaluations for January term open
Friday January 14
  • Last day of instruction
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Monday January 17 January term residence halls close
Tuesday January 18 Course evaluations for January term close
Monday January 24 January term grades due by faculty (end of business day)
Spring
Monday–Friday November 1–5 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for January term and spring term 2022
Saturday–Tuesday November 6–16 Registration open to all continuing and returning students forJanuary term and spring term
Thursday November 11 Staff offices closed for Veteran's Day
Wednesday–Monday November 17–22 Registration closed for spring 2022 only (open for January term)
Tuesday–
Thursday
November 23–December 23 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for January term and spring term
Wednesday–Friday November 24–26 Thanksgiving Holidays
Wednesday December 1 Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred May (spring 2022) or September (summer 2022)
Friday–
Sunday
December 24–January 2 January term and spring term 2022 registration closed
Monday January 3
  • Tuition and fees due (late fee assessed beginning January 4)
  • First day of instruction for January term
  • Last day to add a class for January term
Tuesday January 4 J-term drop from classes for non-payment
Wednesday January 5 Last day to withdraw from a January term class ("W" will appear on the transcript)
Tuesday January 11 Spring term drop from classes for non-payment 
Friday  January 14
  • Last day of instruction for January term
  • Last day to file an Incomplete Grade Request for January term 
Monday January 17
  • Martin Luther King, Jr Holiday
  • Residence halls close for January term 
Tuesday January 18
  • New student orientation
  • Residence halls open at 9:00 am for continuing, new, and readmitted students
Wednesday January 19 First day of instruction
Monday January 24 January term grades due (end of business day)
Wednesday February 2
  • Last day to add a class
  • Last day to increase credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from audit to graded or P/NP
  • Last day to reduce credits, take a leave of absence, or withdraw for a partial tuition credit
  • Administrative withdrawal for all non-registered students
  • Last day to submit a readmission application for spring 2022
  • Last day to submit a graduate special status application for spring 2022 (contact graduate admissions)
Wednesday February 16 Drop Deadline
  • Last day to drop a class without grade of "W"
  • Last day to decrease credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from P/NP or graded to audit grading
February 16
Temporarily extended to May 4
Last day to change grade option from graded to P/NP or P/NP to graded
Monday February 21 Presidents' Day Holiday
Monday–Friday March 21–25 Spring Break
Wednesday March 30
Temporarily extended to May 4
Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript.
Monday–Friday April 4–8 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for summer and fall 2022
Saturday–Wednesday April 9–13 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for summer and fall 2022
Thursday–Monday April 14–18 Registration closed for summer 2021 only
Tuesday–Monday April 19–June 13 Summer 2022 open registration
Tuesday–Monday April 14–June 27 Fall 2022 open registration
Wednesday April 13 Master’s theses and doctoral dissertations for degrees to be conferred May 2022 due in the Library
Monday April 18 Spring course evaluations open
Monday May 2 Payment deadline for summer 2022
Wednesday May 4
  • Last day of instruction
  • Last day to take a leave of absence or withdraw for the current semester
May 4
Temporarily extended to May 13
Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Wednesday May 4
Temporarily extended from March 30
Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript.
May 4
Temporarily extended from February 16
Last day to change grade option from graded to P/NP or P/NP to graded
Thursday–Friday May 5–6 Reading days
Friday May 6 Spring course evaluations close
Monday–Friday May 9–13 Final exams
Tuesday May 10 Drop from classes for non-payment for summer 2022
May 13
Temporarily extended from May 4
Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Friday May 13 Last day to file Undergraduate Application for Graduation or Graduate Petition for Candidacy for degrees to be conferred January (fall 2022)
Saturday May 14 Residence halls close for non-graduating students at noon
Saturday May 14 134th Commencement
Sunday May 15 Residence halls close at noon for graduating students
Tuesday May 24 Grades due by faculty
Summer
Monday–Friday April 4–8 Priority registration for summer and fall 2022
Saturday–Wednesday April 9–13 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for summer and fall 2022
Thursday–Monday April 14–18 Registration closed summer 2022 only
Tuesday–Monday April 19–June 13 Summer 2022 open registration
Monday May 2 Tuition and fees due
Tuesday May 10 Drop from classes for non-payment
Monday May 16
  • First day of instruction
  • Residence halls open
Monday May 30 Memorial Day Holiday
Tuesday June 1 Add deadline (including late-starting courses)
  • Last day to add a class
  • Last day to increase credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from audit to graded or P/NP
  • Last day to reduce credits, withdraw, or take a leave of absence, or withdraw for a partial tuition credit
  • Administrative withdrawal for all non-registered students for summer 2021 
Monday June 13 Drop deadline
  • Last day to drop a class without grade of "W"
  • Last day to decrease credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from P/NP or graded to audit grading
Monday July 4 Independence Day Holiday
Monday July 25
  • Last day of instruction
  • Residence halls close
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
  • Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript
Monday August 1 Course evaluations for summer 2022 open
Friday August 19 Course evaluations for summer 2022 close
Monday August 22 Grades due by faculty (end of day)