Academic Calendar

2020–21

Fall
Monday–Friday April 6–10 Priority registration for continuing and returning students, fall and summer 2020
Saturday–
Friday
April 11–June 26 Registration open for all continuing and returning students, fall 2020
  • New undergraduate students must contact admissions for fall 2020 registration information
  • New graduate students must contact department for fall 2020 registration information and access
Saturday–
Thursday
June 27–July 2 Registration closed
Friday–
Wednesday
July 3–July 29 Registration reopens
Thursday–Sunday July 30–August 2 Registration closed
Monday August 3 Tuition and fees due (late fee assessed beginning August 4)
Monday–Wednesday August 3–September 23 Registration open (all continuing students)
Monday August 10 Drop from classes for non-payment
Saturday–Tuesday August 22–25
  • New student orientation and registration
  • Residence halls open at 9:00 am for new and readmitted students
Monday August 24 Residence halls open at 9:00 am for continuing students
Tuesday August 25 Graduate student orientation
Wednesday August 26 Instruction begins
Monday September 7 Labor Day Holiday
Wednesday September 9
  • Last day to add a class
  • Last day to increase credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from audit to graded or P/NP
  • Last day to reduce credits, withdraw, or take a leave of absence, or withdraw for a partial tuition credit
Wednesday September 23 Drop deadline
  • Last day to drop a class without grade of "W"
  • Last day to decrease credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from P/NP or graded to audit grading
  • Last day to change grade option from graded to P/NP or P/NP to graded
Friday October 2 Convocation
Monday November 2 Last day for students graduating fall 2020 to declare a minor
Wednesday November 4 Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript
Monday–Friday November 2–6 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for January term 2021 and spring term 2021
Wednesday  November 11 Staff offices closed for Veteran's Day
Saturday–
Tuesday
November 7–17 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term 2021 and spring term 2021)
Monday November 16 Master's theses and doctoral dissertations for degrees to be conferred January 2021 (fall 2020) due in the Library
Wednesday–Sunday November 18–22 Registration closed for spring term 2021 (open for January term)
Monday November 23 Fall course evaluations open
Tuesday–Sunday November 24–December 20 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term and spring term)
Wednesday–Friday November 25–27 Thanksgiving Holidays
Tuesday December 1 Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred May (spring 2021) or September (summer 2021)
Monday December 7
  • Last day of instruction
  • Last day to take a leave of absence or withdraw for the current semester
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Tuesday–Wednesday December 8–9 Reading Days
Wednesday December 9 Fall course evaluations close
Thursday–Wednesday December 10–16 Final Exams 
Wednesday December 16 Residence halls close at noon
Monday–Sunday December 21–January 3 January term 2021 registration closed
Monday–Monday December 21–January 4 Spring 2021 registration closed
Wednesday December 23 Grades due by faculty (5:00 pm)
January Term
Monday–Friday November 2–6 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for January term 2021 and spring term 2021
Saturday–
Tuesday
November 7–17 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term 2021 and spring term 2021)
Wednesday  November 11 Closed for Veteran's Day
Wednesday–
Sunday
November 18–22 Registration closed for spring 2021 (open for January term 2021)
Tuesday–Sunday November 24–December 20 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term 2021 and spring term 2021)
Wednesday December 16 Tuition and fees for January term 2021 due
Thursday December 17 January term 2021 drop for non-payment
Monday–Sunday December 21–January 3 January term 2021 registration closed
Monday–Monday December 21–January 4 Spring 2021 registration closed
Sunday January 3 January term residence halls open
Monday January 4
  • Instruction begins
  • Last day to add a January term course
Tuesday January 5 Last day to drop a January term course
Wednesday January 6 Last day to withdraw from a January term course. A "W" will appear on the transcript.
Friday January 15
  • Last day of instruction
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Tuesday January 19 January term residence halls close
Monday January 25 January term grades due by faculty (end of business day)
Spring
Monday–Friday November 2–6 Priority registration for continuing and returning students for January term 2021 and spring term 2021
Saturday–Tuesday November 7–17 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term and spring term)
Wednesday November 11 Closed for Veteran's Day
Wednesday–Sunday November 18–22 Registration closed for spring 2021 only (open for January term)
Tuesday–
Sunday
November 24–December 20 Registration open to all continuing and returning students (January term and spring term)
Tuesday December 1 Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred May (spring 2021) or September (summer 2021)
Monday–
Sunday
December 21–January 3 January term 2020 Registration closed
Monday–
Monday
December 21–January 4 Spring 2020 Registration closed
Monday January 4 Tuition and fees due (late fee assessed beginning January 5)
Monday January 11 Drop from classes for non-payment
Monday January 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
Tuesday January 19
  • New student orientation
  • Residence halls open at 9:00 am for continuing, new, and readmitted students
Wednesday January 20 First day of instruction
Wednesday February 3
  • Last day to add a class
  • Last day to increase credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from audit to graded or P/NP
  • Last day to reduce credits, take a leave of absence, or withdraw for a partial tuition credit
  • Administrative withdrawal for all non-registered students
Monday February 15 Presidents' Day Holiday
Wednesday February 17 Drop Deadline
  • Last day to drop a class without grade of "W"
  • Last day to decrease credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from P/NP or graded to audit grading
  • Last day to change grade option from graded to P/NP or P/NP to graded
Monday–Friday March 22–26 Spring Break
Wednesday March 31 Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript.
Monday–Friday April 5–9 Priority registration for summer and fall 2021
Saturday–Sunday April 10–18 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for summer and fall 2021
Monday–Tuesday April 19–20 Registration closed for summer 2021 only
Wednesday–Monday April 21–June 14 Summer 2021 open registration
Wednesday–Friday April 21–June 25 Fall 2021 open registration
Wednesday April 14 Master’s theses and doctoral dissertations for degrees to be conferred May 2021 due in the Library
Saturday April 24 Spring course evaluations open
Monday May 3
  • Last day to file graduation application for degrees to be conferred January
  • Payment deadline for summer 2021
Wednesday May 5
  • Last day of instruction
  • Last day to take a leave of absence or withdraw for the current semester
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Thursday–Friday May 6–7 Reading days
Friday May 8 Spring course evaluations close
Monday May 10 Drop from classes for non-payment for summer 2021
Monday–Friday May 10–14 Final exams
Saturday May 15 Residence halls close for non-graduating students at noon
Saturday May 15 133rd Commencement
Sunday May 16 Residence halls close at noon for graduating students
Tuesday May 25 Grades due by faculty
Summer
Monday–Friday April 5–9 Priority registration for summer and fall 2021
Saturday–Sunday April 10–18 Registration open to all continuing and returning students for summer and fall 2021
Monday–Tuesday April 19–20 Registration closed summer 2021 only
Wednesday–Friday April 21–June 14 Summer 2021 open registration
Monday May 3 Tuition and fees due
Monday May 10 Drop from classes for non-payment
Monday May 17
  • First day of instruction
  • Residence halls open
Monday May 31 Memorial Day Holiday
Tuesday June 1 Add deadline (including late-starting courses)
  • Last day to add a class
  • Last day to increase credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from audit to graded or P/NP
  • Last day to reduce credits, withdraw, or take a leave of absence, or withdraw for a partial tuition credit
  • Administrative withdrawal for all non-registered students for summer 2021 
Monday June 14 Drop deadline
  • Last day to drop a class without grade of "W"
  • Last day to decrease credit value for variable credit courses
  • Last day to change from P/NP or graded to audit grading
Sunday July 4 Independence Day Holiday
Monday July 26 Last day to withdraw from an individual class. A "W" will appear on the transcript.
Friday August 20
  • Last day of instruction
  • Residence halls close
  • Last day to file an incomplete grade request
Monday August 23 Grades due by faculty (end of day)