Public Health and Health Equity

Faculty & Staff

Faculty|Staff

Jared Young
Associate Professor of Biology
PHE Co-Chair
Mary S. Metz Professorship
NSB 120, 510.430.2032 jyoung@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Odor sensing pathways and their modulation in the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans

Julia Chinyere Oparah
Associate Provost
Professor of Ethnic Studies
PHE Co-Chair
Mills Hall 206, 510.430.3163, jcoparah@mills.edu
Professional Interests: African diaspora studies, Black British studies, black feminist theory, women of color organizing, transnational prison-industrial complex, women and transgender prisoners, black women and childbirth

Elizabeth Bachen
Professor of Psychology
Program Head of Biopsychology
NSB 242, 510.430.2141, bachen@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Clinical psychology, women's health, how psychological stress affects health, psychosocial and biological mechanisms of stress and health, psychoneuroimmunology

Linda M. Perez
Professor of Education
Abbie Valley Professor
Director of Child Life and Early Childhood Specialist Programs
Co-Director of Infant Mental Health Program
EDUC 213, 510.430.2328, lmperez@mills.edu
At-risk children and families and the application of development theory to special education issues, mental health and developmental disorders of infancy and early childhood

Helen Walter
Visiting Associate Professor
Director of the Pre-Nursing Program
Hellman Summer Science and Math, Director
NSB 131, 510.430.2035, hwalter@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Testing the antimicrobial properties of indigenous plants and microbial contributions to extraterrestrial habitats

Visiting Scholars and Artists

Jocelyn Garrick
Assistant Adjunct Professor
NSB 124, 510.430.3175, jfreemangarrick@mills.edu

Dantia Hudson
Assistant Adjunct Professor
NSB 124, 510.430.3175, dhudson@mills.edu

Staff

Mary Pace
Faculty Administrative Assistant
NSB 111, 510.430.2317, mpace@mills.edu

Judith Pierce
Division of Student Life Manager
Wellness and Community Outreach
Cowell 123, 510.430.2260, jpierce@mills.edu








Last Updated: 3/15/18