English

Faculty and Staff

Elmaz Abinader
Professor of English
Mills Hall Room 313, 510.430.2225, moses@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Creative writing, fiction and nonfiction, theories of creativity, teaching creative writing

Diane Cady
Professor of English
Mills Hall Room 314, 510.430.2221, dcady@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Chaucer, late medieval culture, medieval romance, medieval and early modern drama, new economic criticism, gender studies, cultural studies

Ajuan Mance
Professor of English
Mills Hall Room 311, 510.430.2213, amance@mills.edu
Professional Interests: African American literature, 19th-century American literature, US popular culture, the oral tradition in US literature, Black feminist thought, African American art

Sarah Pollock
Professor Emerita of Journalism
Mills Hall Room 347, 510.430.2359, pollock@mills.edu
Professional Interests: The journalism revolution (digital media, social media, legacy news values, etc.), magazine and news writing and editing for traditional media; creative nonfiction (in print and other forms), historical and geographic narratives, environmental and natural history writing

Patricia Powell
Professor of English
Mills Hall Room 351, 510.430.2204, ppowell@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Creative writing: fiction and nonfiction; Caribbean literature; African women writers; gay and lesbian literature; contemporary fiction

back to top

Kathryn Reiss
Professor of English
Aurelia Henry Reinhardt Professor
Mills Hall Room 307, 510.430.2216, kreiss@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Creative writing, fiction for juveniles and young adults, historical fiction, suspense fiction, literature and time

Kirsten Saxton
Professor of English
Director of MA in English Language and Literatures
Mills Hall Room 306, 510.430.2214, ktsaxton@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Women and the law, the history of the novel, 18th-century British literature and culture, post-colonial literature and culture, theories of sexuality, pedagogy, composition studies

Juliana Spahr
Professor of English
Joan Danforth Professorship in the Arts
Mills Hall Room 315, 510.430.2289, jspahr@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Poetry and poetics, cultural studies, anti-colonial literature and theory

Thomas Strychacz
Professor of English
May Treat Morrison Professor
Mills Hall Room 304, 510.430.2208, toms@mills.edu
Professional Interests: American literature, mass culture, political and cultural approaches to literature, science fiction

Visiting Scholars

Emma Bufton
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 305, 510.430.2219
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 9:45-10:45, and by appointment
Professional Interests: 19th- and 20th-century British literature, the novel and narrative theory, postcolonial literature and culture, theories of nationalism, rhetoic and composition

David Buuck
Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 348, 510.430.2245, dbuuck@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 12:00-12:45, Wednesday 1:00-2:30, and by appointment
Professional Interests: Poetry, postcolonial literature, site-specific and conceptual art, cultural studies, globalization theory

Rebekah Edwards
Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 316, 510.430.2250, redwards@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 9:15-10:00 pm
Professional Interests: Queer theory; problem bodies in 19th and 20th century British and American literatures; visual culture and the aesthetics of alterity; passing narratives; poetics; race, gender and dis/ability in early 20th century US cultures

Monique Iles
Assitant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 303, 510.430.2282, miles@mills.edu
Office Hours: Friday 12:30-2:30 pm
Professional Interests: Pedagogy, community college education, acceleration and viable alternatives for pre-transfer level writing classes, feminism(s), modernism, and grammar

Bula Maddison
Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 330, 510.430.2217, bmaddiso@mills.edu
Office Hours: teaching in Spring
Professional Interests: Bible, bible in modern literature, Bakhtinian theory

Kim Magowan
Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 349, 510.430.2283, magowan.kim@gmail.com
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 12:30-2:00 and Wednesday 4:00-5:00 pm
Professional Interests: Nineteenth- and 20th-century American literature, modernism, the gothic, African American literature, film

Hugo Garcia Manriquez
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 303, 510.430.2282, hgarciamanriquez@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-11:00 am, Thursday 1:00-2:00 pm

Margaret Miller
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 305, 510.430.2219, mamiller@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 2:30-3:30

Nayomi Munaweera
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 303, 510.430.2282, nayomunaweera@gmail.com
Office Hours: by appointment

Achy Obejas
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 344, 510.430.2337, aobejas@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tby appointment
Professional Interests: Literature, translation, travel, politics, and Cuba

Ruth Saxton
Professor Emerita of English
Mills Hall Room 301, 510.430.2192, rsaxton@mills.edu
Office Hours: Friday 12:30-2:30 or by appointment

Shanthi Sekaran
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 312, 510.430.2192, ssekaran@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday 12:15-1:15

Truong Tran
Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 350, 510.430.2285, truong.celan@gmail.com
Office Hours: Tuesday 3:00-5:00 pm and by appointment
Professional Interests: Poetry and poetics, visual arts

Stephanie Young
Adjunct Professor
Mills Hall Room 317, 510.430.2236, syoung@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 11:00-12:00, Wednesday 1:30-3:00
Professional Interests: Contemporary poetry, cross-genre and hybrid writing, documentary poetics, performance, lyric essay and memoir, digital and new media, feminist theory, cultural studies, poetry communities and movements

 

Staff

Tonianne Nemeth
Department Administrator
Mills Hall Room 310, 510.430.2217, tnemeth@mills.edu

Christina Fisher
Graduate Programs Coordinator
Mills Hall Room 319, 510.430.2240, chfisher@mills.edu

Stephanie Young
Director of Strategic Initiatives and Programs
Mills Hall Room 317, 510.430.2236, syoung@mills.edu

back to top








Last Updated: 10/19/18