Studio Art Faculty | Art History Faculty | Visiting Scholars and Artists | Staff

Studio Art Faculty
Samara Halperin Work Samara Halperin
Adjunct Professor
Art Center 170 (Ceramics)
510.430.3277 shalperi@mills.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:10-6:10 and by appointment

Professional Interests: Experimental film and video, cinematography, 16mm animation, production design, writing, pop culture
Yulia Pinkusevich
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 160 (Painting)
510.430.3226, ypinkusevich@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00, 4:00-4:30 pm

Professional Interests: Contemporary art and architecture, painting, drawing and site specific installation
Chris Sollars
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 115 (Sculpture)
510.430.2173, csollars@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 12:00 pm-1:00 pm or by appointment

Professional Interests: Sculpture, performance, video, socially engaged projects, and interventions
Catherine F. Wagner Catherine F. Wagner
Professor of Studio Art
Department Head
Art Center 122
510.430.3288, catwag@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
See KQED television's feature on Catherine Wagner

Professional Interests: Photography, art and science, conceptual art, contemporary art philosophy, public art

Visiting Scholars and Artists

Jennifer Brandon
Associate Adjunct Professor
Art 140 (Photography)
510.430.3140, jbrandon@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 4:00-5:00, or by arrangement
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, photography, sculpture, video

Freddy Chandra
Associate Adjunct Professor
Art 116 (Sculpture)
510.430.3225, fchandra@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:15-1:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Painting, drawing, sculpture, installation, architectural works

Stephanie Ellis
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116, 510.430.3225, stephanie_ellis@me.com
Office Hours: Friday 12:15-2:00 or by appointment
Professional Interests: Politics of scale, panoramic spectatorship, language of gestures, the transformative value of shame

Chris Fraser
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 140 (Photography)
510.430.3140, cfraser@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00
Professional Interests: Light, architecture, perception, embodied experience

Glen Helfand
Associate Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116
510.430.3225, ghelfand@mills.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, criticism, curatorial practice

Kari Marboe
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 170 (Ceramics)
510.430.3277, kmarboe@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00 by appointment
Professional Interests: Socially engaged ceramics, creative writing, site-specific art

Sandra Ono
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art 121
510.430.3277, sono@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 4:00-5:00 by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, experimenting with materials, biology, politics, time and space

Will Rogan
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116
510.430.3225, willrogan@gmail.com
Office Hours: by appointment
Professional Interests: The elusive nature of time, photography, historical objects, highlining

 

Art History Faculty

Meryl Bailey 
Assistant Professor of Art and Art History
Art Center Room 106
510.430.3289, nmbailey@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday 9:30-11:30 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Italian and Spanish art; early modern confraternities; Venetian art and culture; Sephardic art and culture; criminal justice and visual culture; portraiture

Mary-Ann Milford
Professor of Art History
Carver Professor of Far Eastern Studies
Department Head
Art Center 105
510.430.3290, mmilford@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00 and by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary Asian art, specializing in women's art of South Asia and the art of India, China, and Japan 

Berit Potter
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116
510.430.3225, bpotter@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 5:00-6:00

 

Intermedia Arts Faculty

James Fei 
Associate Professor of Electronic Art
Program Head
Music Room 33
510.430.2329, jfei@mills.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 4:00-5:30, and by appointment
Professional Interests: Composition, improvisation, sound installlation, live electronic music, recording, intermedia

 

Staff

Mike Halberstadt
Studio Art Technician
Photography 153, 510.430.2117, mhalberstadt@mills.edu

Luke Turner
Manager of Exhibitions and Collections
Art Museum, 510.430.2164, luturner@mills.edu

Isabelle Chiosso
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Art Center 121, 510.430.2117, ichiosso@mills.edu



Last Updated: 10/2/17