Art (Studio)

Faculty & Staff

James Fei
Associate Professor of Electronic Art
Program Head
Music Room 33, 510.430.2329, jfei@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Composition, improvisation, sound installation, live electronic music, recording, intermedia

Samara Halperin
Adjunct Professor
Art Center 170 (Ceramics), 510.430.3277 shalperi@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Experimental film and video, cinematography, 16mm animation, production design, writing, pop culture

Yulia Pinkusevich
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 160 (Painting), 510.430.3226, ypinkusevich@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Contemporary art and architecture, painting, drawing and site specific installation

Chris Sollars
Assistant Professor of Studio Art
Art Center 115 (Sculpture), 510.430.2173, csollars@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Sculpture, performance, video, socially engaged projects, and interventions.

Catherine F. Wagner
Nancy Cook Chair of Photography
Professor of Studio Art
Department Head
Art Center 122, 510.430.3288, catwag@mills.edu
Professional Interests: Photography, art and science, conceptual art, contemporary art philosophy, public art

Visiting Scholars & Artists

Jennifer Brandon
Adjunct Professor
Art Center 140 (Photography), 510.430.3140, jbrandon@mills.edu
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday 12:00–1:00
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, photography, sculpture, and video

Stephanie Ellis
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116, 510.430.3225, stephanie_ellis@me.comOffice Hours: Friday, 12:00-2:00
Professional Interests: Politics of scale, panoramic spectatorship, language of gestures, the transformative value of shame

Chris Fraser
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 140 (Photography), 510.430.3140, cfraser@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00 or by appointment
Professional Interests: Light, architecture, perception, embodied experience

Glen Helfand
Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116, 510.430.3225, ghelfand@mills.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, criticism, curatorial practice

Kari Marboe
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 170 (Ceramics), 510.430.3277, kmarboe@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:30-1:30 or by appointment
Professional Interests: Socially engaged ceramics, creative writing, site-specific art

Sandra Ono
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 170 (Ceramics), 510.430.3277, sono@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:00 by appointment
Professional Interests: Contemporary art, experimenting with materials, biology, politics, time and space

Laura Richard
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116, lrichard@mills.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 1:00-2:00 and by appointment

Will Rogan
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 116, 510.430.3225, willrogan@gmail.com
Office Hours: Thursday, 2:00-4:00
Professional Interests: The elusive nature of time, photography, historical objects, highlining

Genevieve Quick
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Art Center 140 (Photography), 510.430.3140, gquick@mills.eduOffice Hours: Tuesday, 3:00-4:00

Staff

Mike Halberstadt
Studio Art Technician
Pho 153, 510.430.2117, mhalberstadt@mills.edu

Luke Turner
Manager of Exhibitions and Collections
Art Museum, 510.430.2164, luturner@mills.edu

Tim Kopra
Studio Art Technician, Sculpture and Ceramics
Sculpture 102, 510.430.2117, tkopra@mills.edu

Isabelle Chiosso
Faculty Administrative Assistant
Art 121, 510.430.2117, ichiosso@mills.edu

back to top









Last Updated: 3/15/18