Mills Bridge Advocate Team

The Mills Bridge Advocate Team is designed to support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, questioning, twospirit, pansexual, asexual, and gender fluid (LGBTQIQ2PAG) students. The team is comprised of faculty and staff who have committed to helping these students navigate systems and learn to advocate for themselves.

What We Do

Team members agree to act as a resource to work with, not for, students navigating the system. Members agree to:

  • Review a brief set of training resources on how to be a strong advocate for LGBTQIQ2PAG students. (This will be sent out after you sign up.)
  • Attend one team meeting per semester where we brainstorm ideas, discuss specific concerns, share resources, and support each other.
  • Participate in discussions about the implementation of GIES report recommendations as well as other policies and practices that might support LGBTQIQ2PAG students

Our Advocates

(Listed in alphabetical order by department)

Admission

Kathryn Cabunoc, cabunoc@mills.edu
Staff
She/her
Japanese-Filipino-Mexican American, cisgender, queer POC

Advising, Career & Global Learning

Ines C. Barbosa, ibarbosa@mills.edu
Staff
She/ella
First Generation, Daughter of Immigrants, Latinx

Kaamil Al-Hassan, kalhassan@mills.edu
Staff
African-American/Black, Queer/member of the LGBTQ+ community, Low-Income, First-Generation College Student, Oakland Native

Mohamed Sesay, msesay@mills.edu
Staff
He, him, his
Black & African /Cis-Male/ Queer/ First Generation College Student/ Raised Low-Income/ Son

Athletics, PE, & Recreation

Lilia Dosalmas, ldosalmas@mills.edu
Staff

Nic Van Dyke, nvandyke@mills.edu
Staff
My name, he, she, they/them
In recovery from conservative religious upbringing; I now enjoy nature-based spirituality. First-generation college graduate. Genderqueer, non-binary.

Neil Virtue, nvirtue@mills.edu
Staff
He/him/his
White, cis-gender male, gay, brother, son, coach

Biology Department

Sarah Swope, sswope@mills.edu
Professor of Biology
She/her/hers
Cis, straight ally

CAPS

Ilana Baraket, ibarakat@mills.edu
she/her
White identified, Jewish, Queer, ADHD, parent

Zo Jimenez, zjimenez@mills.edu
they/them
Latinx/Nonbinary

Career Connections

Daisy Villa, dvilla@mills.edu
She, her, hers
first-generation college community, Mexican American

The Center for Student Leadership, Equity, and Excellence

Sascha Brown, sascbrown@mills.edu
Staff
They/them
Black/African American, Gender Queer, Non Binary

Alfredo Del Cid, adelcid@mills.edu
Staff
He/him
Latinx, Pansexual, Queer, Christian, First Gen, Able Bodied

Computer Science Department

Ellen Spertus, spertus@mills.edu
Professor of Computer Science
She/her
I am Jewish, have a physical disability (an essential tremor), and have experienced mental illness.

Economics Department

Jasmin Ansar, jansar@mills.edu
Professor of Economics

English Department

Diane Cady, dcady@mills.edu
Professor of English
She/hers/her
First generation college student, Latina

Kirsten Saxton, ktsaxton@mills.edu
Professor of English
She/hers

Ethnic Studies

Natalee Kehaulani Bauer, nkbauer@mills.edu
Professor of Ethnic & Women's Studies
She, her, hers/They, them, theirs
I am a Kanaka Maoli (Native Hawaiian) who identifies as queer and non-binary/gender fluid.

Housing Management & Dining Services

Phaedra Gauci, pgauci@mills.edu
Staff
First generation, immigrant, person of color, queer.

Jason Katayanagi, jkatayanagi@mills.edu
Staff
He, him, his
Happa, Cis Male, Athiest

Jessica Lopez, jeslopez@mills.edu
Staff
She/her/hers
Female identified, lesbian, able bodied, chicana

Library

Elissa Papendick, epapendick@mills.edu
Staff
She/her
Queer, white, femme, disabled, cis woman

Lindsey Shively, lshively@mills.edu
Staff
She/her
Queer, white cis femme. Currently able-bodied

Lawral Wornek, lwornek@mills.edu
Staff
She/her
I'm your friendly neighborhood (cis, white, femme) queer librarian.

M Center

Alison Ross, aross@mills.edu
Staff
She, her, hers, they, their
White, British, Christian, Parent

Lokey School of Business & Public Policy

Andrew R. Flores, andflores@mills.edu
Professor of Political Science
He/him/his
Latinx, cisgender, gay, first generation

Keelia Murphy, kmurphy@mills.edu
StaffShe/her/hersQueer white/Mexican femme
Tayler Hammond, thammond@mills.eduStaffShe/her/hers

School of Education

Diane Ketelle, dketelle@mills.edu
Professor of Education 
She, her

Alison McDonald, amcdonald@mills.edu
Professor of Education
She, her, hers
I am an older lesbian in a long-term relationship of 35 years (married legally since 2008). We have raised two children together who are now adults.

SASS

Julia Cohen, jcohen@mills.edu
Staff
she/her
Jewish, Queer

Provost's Office

Chinyere Oparah, jcoparah@mills.edu
Provost & Dean of the Faculty
Professor of Ethnic Studies
She/her or they/them
Black/African; lesbian

Maggie Hunter, mhunter@mills.edu
Associate Provost, Recruitment & Student Success
Professor of Sociology
She/her
I am a biracial (black and white) woman. I am straight, but a resource and advocate for any LGBTQQ2PAG students or community members.

WGSS

Margo Okazawa Rey, mokazawa@mills.edu
Professor of Women's Studies
African American and Japanese

If you want to be on the list, please contact: MBAT-Admin@mills.edu.