Provost's Office

The Office of the Provost and Dean of the Faculty is responsible for the administration of all undergraduate and graduate academic programs of five academic divisions, including Arts and Technology, Natural and Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, the School of Education, and the Lorry I. Lokey School of Business and Public Policy. The Provost and Dean of the Faculty also oversees the F. W. Olin Library, Mills Performing Arts, the Mills College Art Museum, and the Office of Academic Records.

The Office of the Provost and Dean of the Faculty oversees all academic recruitment, staffing, and program budgets, and provides support to the faculty governance system and to the Board of Trustees. The Office also administers faculty development grants and academic institutional data collection.

Staff Directory

Chinyere Oparah
Provost and Dean of the Faculty, and Professor of Ethnic Studies
Mills Hall 204, 510.430.2290, jcoparah@mills.edu

Margaret Hunter
Associate Provost for Student Success and Undergraduate Education,
and Professor of Sociology
Mills Hall 213, 510.430.3220, mhunter@mills.edu

Beth Kochly
Associate Provost for Curriculum and Academic Resources, and Professor of Chemistry
Mills Hall 205, 510.430.3132, bkochly@mills.edu

Sheila Lloyd
Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning, and Faculty Affairs, and Professor of English
Mills Hall 212, 510.430.3373, slloyd@mills.edu

Kiem Sie
Instructional Technology Administrator
Stern 28, 510.430.2048, ksie@mills.edu

Cynthia Jackson
Special Assistant to the Provost and Manager, Office of the Provost
Mills Hall 203, 510.430.2290, cjackson@mills.edu

Bryan Aja
Executive Assistant for Curriculum, Faculty Governance, and Board of Trustees
Mills Hall 211, 510.430.2091, baja@mills.edu

Magda Cooney
Executive Assistant for Faculty Personnel
Mills Hall 210, 510.430.2044, mcooney@mills.edu

Dalya Azulai
Administrative Specialist
Mills Hall 207, 510.430.2019, dazulai@mills.edu

Vacant
Administrative Specialist
Mills Hall 206, 510.430.2286